The British Fashion Council (BFC) announced the winners of the British Fashion Awards 2013. Voted for by over 300 individuals in the fashion industry, the winners were awarded at the annual ceremony that took place Monday 2nd December at the London Coliseum. Guests including Samantha Cameron, Donatella Versace, Kate Moss, Harry Styles, Miuccia Prada, Gwyneth Paltrow, Sienna Miller, Rosie Huntington-Whiteley and Tinie Tempah gathered to celebrate the successes of the fashion industry over the past year. Watch the most fashionable red carpet arrivals below..

The evening saw a total of 16 awards presented to the leading figures in fashion, recognising creative talent and design excellence across all areas of the industry. The ceremony was hosted by one of the UK’s most exciting comedy talents, Jack Whitehall, and was attended by industry members, including retailers, models, celebrities and media, and for the first time this year, members of the public who purchased tickets to attend.

The prestigious Womenswear Designer of the Year accolade was awarded to Christopher Kane. The award, which is given to a designer who has been instrumental in enhancing women’s fashion, recognises a triumphant year for the London-based brand. Christopher Kane has developed a reputation as one of the most talented and innovative British designers. Securing a partnership deal with the Kering Group followed by another two internationally acclaimed ready-to-wear collections at London Fashion Week have established Christopher Kane as a leading global star.

The honour of Outstanding Achievement in Fashion was awarded to Terry and Tricia Jones by collaborator, colleague and family friend, Dylan Jones OBE. This special award is one of the most significant of the evening; it celebrates and recognises the iconic couple’s tremendous contribution to the fashion industry. i-D Magazine, founded by Terry and Tricia in 1980, became the leading source of creative inspiration for it’s generation. 30 years on, it continues to impact the fashion industry on an international scale.

To recognise the ever-increasing globalisation of the fashion industry, the International Designer of the Year award was introduced this year to celebrate an influential international designer making waves on the global fashion scene. The inaugural award was won by Miuccia Prada for Prada. Miuccia Prada, who has been named in Time magazine’s list of the 100 Most Influential People of the 20th Century, is renowned for her season defining collections that consistently set the agenda of the fashion industry.

Miuccia Prada and Gwyneth Paltrow

Miuccia Prada and Gwyneth Paltrow

British brand Burberry enjoyed a double celebration on the evening, winning both the Designer Brand of the Year and the Menswear Designer of the Year award, which was given to Christopher Bailey for Burberry. In June 2013, Burberry presented their first menswear collection in London after more than 10 years of showing in Milan. Following Bailey’s Hockney and Bennett inspired SS14 collection at London Collections: Men, the Burberry Prorsum menswear collection is now established as an unmissable fixture on the London show schedule.


Lady Amanda Harlech received the Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator in recognition of her creative inspiration and influence in the fashion industry. Lady Harlech has had an unprecedented impact in defining the mood of global fashion through her career spanning three decades, working alongside creative visionaries including John Galliano and Karl Lagerfeld.

Nicholas Kirkwood was named Accessory Designer of the Year marking the third time the designer has been honoured with the award. Kirkwood’s impressive international business won the BFC/Vogue Designer Fashion Fund award this year, followed by the opening of a flagship store in Las Vegas and the launch of both a pre-collection and menswear line. Kirkwood’s iconic footwear recently gained investment from luxury goods group LVMH and is stocked internationally by over 150 retailers.

London is renowned as the fashion world’s capital of ideas and innovation and the winners of the emerging talent awards reinforce this reputation. Simone Rocha was named Emerging Womenswear Designer and is fast becoming one of the hottest tickets at London Fashion Week; Design duo Agi & Sam received the Emerging Menswear Designer award, following a breakthrough year which saw their first standalone catwalk show at London Collections: Men; and Sophia Webster collected the Emerging Accessory Designer award in recognition of her footwear label’s impressive ascent to a flourishing designer business.

J.W. Anderson has risen to the forefront of the international spotlight this year and was named the New Establishment Designer for 2013. This award celebrates London’s unique talents as they transition from emerging talent to brand whilst taking the industry by storm. J.W. Anderson’s uncompromising vision for originality has gained him traction with a global audience. This award commends Anderson’s increasing stature on the international stage and ability to define the future of the fashion industry.

J W Anderson

J W Anderson

British model Edie Campbell was crowned Model of the Year. The past 12 months have seen Edie star in multiple international campaigns for brands including Alexander McQueen, Marc Jacobs and Lanvin, in addition to numerous editorial shoots and landing her first British Vogue cover. Dominating the SS14 catwalks, Edie walked the runway in New York, London and Paris, opening shows for Burberry, Saint Laurent and Louis Vuitton.

Edie Campbell and Otis Ferry

Edie Campbell and Otis Ferry

Erdem was the recipient of this year’s Red Carpet Award. Renowned for collections that portray femininity and modern elegance, Erdem’s fanbase comprises industry figures and celebrities alike. The Duchess of Cambridge, Gwyneth Paltrow, Samantha Cameron and Keira Knightly have all graced the red carpet in his creations, creating a global phenomenon of his designs in the media.

Decided entirely by public vote, the British Style Award brought to you by Vodafone was awarded to Harry Styles. The British Style Award recognises an individual who most embodies the spirit of London and is an international ambassador for London as a leading creative fashion capital. The pop star icon was presented the accolade by three-time British Style Award winner, Alexa Chung.

Harry Styles does exactly what it says on the tin!

Harry Styles does exactly what it says on the tin!

In addition to the award category winners announced on the night, Special Recognition Awards celebrated two individuals who have shaped the fashion industry over the past 25 years: Suzy Menkes OBE was honoured with the award in recognition of her 25-year career at the International New York Times, formerly the IHT; British supermodel and icon Kate Moss was acknowledged for her 25-year long career and continued influence on the fashion industry as the fashion icon of her generation.


This year, the BFC approached over 300 members of the fashion industry to vote for the winners of this year’s accolades. The panel included world leading industry insiders including journalists, buyers, influencers and opinion formers including Anna Wintour OBE, Laura Bailey, Glenda Bailey OBE, Alex Bilmes, Tim Blanks, Joan Burstein CBE, Alison Edmond, Edward Enninful, Poppy Delevingne, Dylan Jones OBE, Lulu Kennedy MBE, Jefferson Hack, Suzy Menkes OBE, Natalie Massenet MBE, Alexandra Shulman OBE, Justine Picardie and Lorraine Candy.


Be first to comment

Leave a Reply